Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m getting caught up on my challenges today before I go back to work tomorrow, so scroll past all these entries if you aren’t terribly fond of boring stuff. Because it will be boring.

Number 9 on my challenge list is “develop and maintain an advanced log of every cent I possess.” UGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

I’m really bad at doing stuff like this because I don’t like to do it. I’ll put it off and put it off until what should have taken only about 5 minutes takes a full hour because months have passed and I have to play the role of forensic accountant. Not  like that happens…. every 4 months or so, but you get the point.

This part of the challenge was important for me to do as soon as possible for obvious reasons of not wanting to overdraft accounts or exceed my income. I found my notebook of choice (that I re-purposed from something else that never got done (this is a trend)), got everything color coded and correctly assigned (I’m OCD… leave me alone!), and figured out exactly where I am. Not bad, not great either. I need to be more cautious with my spending and start saving and investing. I used to do all of that stuff before I went to college and my bank account went dangerously close to the red, but life has changed a lot since college.

So this is me getting back on the financial bandwagon and being more responsible. Those lovely days of being able to waltz around and buy new clothes all the time are officially over. I need to start saving for a new car (even though the one I have right now is great), a down payment on a house… all that fun stuff.

Wish me luck!

 

