Tags

, , , , , , ,

Okay everyone, I want your opinions on something I was thinking about today. Now, I’m vehemently opposed to money. I don’t hate the substance itself, I mean, it’s just a piece of paper or a coin. And let’s face it, I want to have a good roof over my head, food to eat, and a car to drive. So money is a necessity. But I really hate what money has the ability to do to people that are not focused on other things.

Am I crazy for taking issue with our consumer oriented, materialistic society?

I feel like I need to admit that part of my hatred for this culture had stemmed from incidents in my own personal life. In the past, I’ve been treated like a bank, sold out by the people I love, and I’ve seen my own family (and almost future family) completely ripped apart over money. Sometimes I like to fantasize about a world where those things wouldn’t have happened. I feel like society puts too much emphasis on money and says that you can forgo your humanity (in a sense) to get it.

Now, I’d like to get something out there. I have known many people that are wealthy by society standards, and they are amazing people. I’m sad that one family is no longer in my life especially. They were fascinating and amazing, and it always sucks when you lose a friend and end up losing their family too. Ugh. In the past, I’ve been accused of being so vehemently anti-wealth that I had a bad opinion of people in my life who were blessed monetarily. That was never the case, and I’m saying that in case any of you readers are similarly blessed. This is a very broad evaluation, not a singled out rant. Just want to get that out there!

Now, I’m also going to admit I have my own nasty culture tendencies. I can act like a spoiled, entitled bitch. My parents recognized my entitlement and pretty much cut me off, thankfully. Money is not good for me and I struggle with being overly charitable or not charitable enough. It will always be a struggle for me, but as long as I don’t turn into a Real Housewife or Scrooge, I’ll be okay. Or win the lottery. That would ruin my life.

So, I really take issue with this attitude of selling people out. What the hell is more money going to change if you already have enough? Is money really worth that much? Does money buy happiness? I’m really curious about all of this, and I want to know what you think. If you disagree with me or want to point out something I’m missing, please feel free!

