Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t seem to escape from it. This weekend I’m going to fill out my admissions application and re-enroll at my old community college. I was planning on going back anyway for some additional coding and billing classes, but let’s face it… I don’t want to do insurance. I don’t like sitting at a desk everyday with the same people. I don’t like the office alliances, the petty squabbles, the tediousness that comes with each passing claim. I need to do something that actually makes a difference to people.

While I was in Spain, I felt awkward and helpless at times because I couldn’t speak or read Spanish. I mean, even a menu was daunting (and I had a few hilarious misorders that I documented). It was not a good feeling, and it lingered with me. While I was here at home, I never really thought about it because I didn’t have a reason to. I feel ignorant even admitting that I literally had no clue how people who don’t speak or write English felt being in the place I call my home. Do you see where I’m going with this?

Instead of fighting insurance companies all day, I am going to pursue an education to be a translator or a Spanish to English teacher. For once, I actually feel like this is a smart choice. There is a huge and ever enlarging Hispanic population in Florida, especially around where I live. I’ve fallen in love with the language and the culture of Spain and of Puerto Rico, even though there are many more cultures to experience. I took Spanish classes in college and was fluent in conversational Spanish until 2 years ago. I used to be complimented on my writing and speaking skills, so I’m not nursing delusions of grandeur. More importantly, I love teaching and I’ve missed it since I stopped volunteering. But I also love healthcare and hospitals, so that will be something I’ll decide later on.

So I’m going to re-enroll and enjoy learning something fully. Before, I just wanted my foreign language credits so I could move on to other areas. Now, I find myself fascinated by the subject I overlooked.

The irony.

