Tags

, , , , ,

It is with great pleasure that I now announce… 

(Hold on, need appropriate music for this…)

I am done transitioning all 3 jobs!

Everyone who’s ever worked 3 jobs (or 2) knows that it sucks. Early mornings and late nights are the norm, weekends are nonexistent, and the thought of having a life is but a fleeting distant prospect disintegrating towards the horizon. With recent staffing issues at my full time job resulting in mega overtime and headaches, my stamina was degenerating rapidly. I have decided that I’m going to work 2 jobs still, but my hours at my second job have been cut to not even 1/3 of what they used to be. That doesn’t hardly qualify as a job! Seriously. So starting next week I’ll have a full, uninterrupted, beautiful weekend. You know, where I can do something other than prepare for the onset of the work week.

But one thing is for sure: I can settle into my desk at my full time. I’m there to stay and a crowbar won’t remove me from that leather conference chair. My official photo has been taken (that’s the one I posted for all of you), my desk is outfitted in black, white and chrome, and my dual monitors, scanners, and tracking systems are all customized to my preferences. Feels good to be in the big time, I’m not even going to lie. June and July are bringing mandatory conferences and seminars, and I’ll start working on getting my papers and certs as soon as I get bored of my weekend.

This current place that I’m at is welcome because it gets me focused ahead and not behind. Yes, the process sucks but the doors to the past are closed and I won’t be opening them ever again. We all know I had a night last week where sanity flew out the window and my exhausted, emotional state got the best of me. Those moments will continue to become more and more infrequent.

I’m actually not as excited for the next step as I thought I’d be, because the next stage of this recovery process deals with people. I don’t haven’t had great luck with people. To say I’m a magnet for people with drama is an understatement. And like a damn idiot, I go along with it so I take full responsibility for that aspect. You can read some background here if you so choose. I will never go through that again and I think I’ve stood up for myself pretty well so far. It was not an easy thing to do by any means, but it was something that needed to be done. The subject is over and done with, so I’m no longer dealing with any of… that. Which means that I should probably look forward to this part without apprehension, but it isn’t working out that way.

Building my life again is a scary thing. The next step is to find a piano teacher and a dance studio. If those don’t work out, I’ll look for an art studio. Coffee with Kara is a must when she returns from Amsterdam, and my brother has asked me to join a club or something with him. We both slammed into the wall at the same time, so we are facing the same problems regarding hobbies and friends. I’ve also promised threatened that if I feel myself backsliding, I’ll throw my ass in therapy. I’m done playing with my mental and emotional health, and I’m especially done letting other people play with it.

A lot of changes are coming my way in the next few months so I’m in no hurry to run out and overextend myself. Small steps.

