Tags

, , , ,

It kind of astounds me the emotions that music can convey. If you are a person that loves music as much as I do, there is always music playing. Life happens to a soundtrack. I’ve been noticing lately that certain songs bring people from my past back just for a few moments whether I like it or not.

1. Perhaps one of the best examples of this is “Payphone” by Maroon 5. I love this song, but it literally makes me so angry I want to pick something up and throw it. And I’m not violent normally, just sulky.

It has to be this version, the one that is unedited. For me this song triggers feelings of helplessness and frustration. Luis posted lyrics to this song after he left me on his Facebook because… I don’t know. But it made me feel like shit. And it still kind of does even though I realize that he was an ass for doing that. But one thing is for sure, love songs do still make me a bit nauseous and this song makes me violent.

2. This song follows me around like the creeper it is. Seriously, it does and the entire thing is bizarre. I can go for weeks without hearing this song, but it finds some way to reach my ears when I’m on the verge of giving up on major life stuff. It plays at supermarkets, on radio stations, in other people’s cars, on patient’s cell phones, strangers sing bits of it when they think no one is listening… Think of it what you will, but it freaks me out.

3. This song just makes me happy, probably because I’ve sang it with friends on late night adventures. Granted, those people no longer have a place in my life, but thinking of those moments still makes me smile. 

 

