Tags

, , , ,

I have met my husband.

Thank God and eHarmony and a little thing called hope. Just when I’d almost completely given up (and thank you to everyone who encouraged me to keep my eHarmony account open), the most unexpected and wonderful thing happened… I met Will!

Will is perhaps the most amazing person that I have ever met. There is an inherent goodness in him that I’ve never seen before in another person. When I first saw his profile, the first thing I thought was “oh my Lord, this guy is so out of my league!”… he really is but that is another story.

So what shall I tell you about Will?

Well, when we were first getting to know each other on the site, I asked him so many questions I thought for sure he was going to run. In fact, I kind of wanted him to run so I’d never get hurt. I’ll admit that I was looking and wanted a relationship, but I was so dejected and annoyed with the process I thought that I was better off alone. More time to play Skyrim and eat baconators! So imagine my intrigue when instead of pressing the “next” button, he rose to the challenge. Imagine the look on my face when he began talking to me about religion! He also sent back a slew of thoughtful questions about my family and my paintings… clearly someone I couldn’t dismiss. We’d send pages worth of text to each other every night for weeks, I’d wait eagerly for my phone to go off in the morning so I could read what he sent me. Our first phone call was three hours and it felt like three minutes. He was so open and easy to talk to! One thing I love about Will is the fact that he doesn’t hide anything from me. He is so painfully honest it’s reassuring. He told me about the woman he was with for five years and I told him all about Luis. And that was only the first call! It was so comforting to know someone who has gone through a similar experience. I mean, if you really think about it, things like that leave scars. Only someone who has gone through the same type of thing can understand the fears and the triggers that I have now.

Because we’d spent so much time getting to know each other and had grilled each other so thoroughly, when we actually did meet everything felt so… comfortable. It just felt right. As soon as he got out of the car, all I wanted to do was hug him. He was exactly as he had portrayed (only even more handsome), which in the world of online dating is the equivalent of finding a pot of gold. I’d gotten pepper spray for the occasion, but thankfully using it was the last thing on my mind! I did get the tags off his car though, but he just laughed at me and let me do it.

We got lost on the way to the museum, so we were both laughing and swearing at our phones as we tried to solve the problem. Getting lost was half the fun, especially as we were holding hands and people watching. As we went through, we talked about his family and he answered my relentless questions on how law school was and how he’d gotten to be where he is today. I’d never met someone so open and candid, but also genuinely interested in what I had to say. He’s terrifyingly intelligent, yet he has a solid base of priorities. He has an undergrad in Chemistry and a very formidable law degree, but instead of ruling the world, he works for a healthcare nonprofit. His vocabulary rivals my own and the way he thinks about things is utterly fascinating.

I figured it was going well when we were eating lunch together and I was acting completely normal. I’ll admit that I completely freak out on first dates and usually eat the equivalent of an almond, but I think I ate more than he did. We talked about foreign affairs, politics, investments, traveling… a huge variety of topics and he never skipped a beat. Towards the end, I looked over and I told him “I know this is insane, and I don’t want to be that girl, but it feels like we’ve known each other forever.” I think his face lit up just a little bit. He later admitted that he’d been thinking the same thing.

Fast forward a little bit and here we are today. He looks at me like I’m the only thing in the world that matters. He never gets frightened away by the crazy things I do that really don’t make sense. In a world where affection is conditional I know his is unconditional. The way he speaks to me is unlike anything else. He speaks to me with such kindness and respect that I can’t help but feel so lucky to have him. He is a champion of doing little things, like texting me good morning and good night. He’s currently living over 100 miles away, but he drives down every weekend to spend time with me and he’s in the process of getting a job here.

He has one of the most beautiful hearts I have ever seen, there is an inherent kindness and gentleness to him that takes my breath away. His genuine concern for others and his generous nature are just a few things that truly set him apart from anyone else I’ve dated. He has a striking morality and a passion for doing right by others no matter their circumstance. When I asked him why he always so conscious of others, he responded that each person has potential within them for greatness. He doesn’t ever want to be the person that refused to lend a hand when someone else was in need.

He wants the same things, he admires my strong personality, and above all, he is one of the most impressive, wonderful men I’ve ever met. I feel like I’m the luckiest girl in the world that a man like him would ever love me. But it just works so seamlessly and so effortlessly, I can’t imagine a future without him in it. That doesn’t mean that everything is all love and roses, there are things we must work through just like any other relationship. But I never doubt his commitment, not even for a second.

He makes me happy, but most of all, he makes me want to be better than I am every single day. He brings out the absolute best in me, he encourages me, and he supports me unwaveringly. I’ve always been told that when you know, you know. Now I understand what they meant. I understand now why I’ve had to go through every experience in my past. Although it wasn’t always fun, it was worth the wait.

